Kundalini

Actions of Kundalini Yoga

The word kundalini  means "power." In Kundalini we use our whole body in a 75 or 90- minute meditation comprised of kriyas, pranayamas, mantras, asanas, and mudras. Let's go deeper into some of those terms:

Kundalini yoga integrates movements, yoga postures (asanas), and hand or arm positions (mudras) into sequences called kriyasKriya is an action that frees stuck or contracted energy in our bodies. Kriyas can involve long sets of a pose, mudra, or action. You are invited to listen to your body and take a rest if necessary. 

Pranayamas (breath practices) balance our brain, body, and heart. Mantras refer to powerful words that are spoken or chanted as part of the meditation. A mantra is a kind of bridge; man means "mind" and tra "tool or bridge" to move from one state to another. Chanting of mantras creates deep shifts in energy.

Benefits of Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini works with our whole body to balance, release, and nourish - physically and energetically. Many of the sets or kriyas are targeted specific to our body's systems, including lymphatic, circulatory, endocrine, digestive, and respiratory. Kundalini yoga works with your nervous system to create new neural pathways, which has physical, cognitive, and emotional benefits.

Over time, through loss and hardship, we can incur energy blocks. These blocks affect our thoughts, emotions, bodies, and relationships. Kundalini is a powerful mechanism to transform you, releasing this blocked energy. You may experience emotional, mental, and physical sensations. These experiences are part of the process of becoming conscious. So often we live unconsciously from patterns we learned from our families and culture, these are not inherently bad or good. The work of Kundalini is to clear our vision to recognize and live into our greatness.

Use of Sound in Kundalini 

In class often the instructor will bring an instrument called a Harmonium. This is an organ type instrument which supports chanting and singing of mantras. Crystal bowls and chimes may be played during savasana (resting posture) followed by the gong. 

The gong is a powerful instrument for healing used in Kundalini yoga. The gong is the oldest healing instrument which helps to move, shift, and dissolve habits that no longer serve our highest self.

*This practice is for all practitioners. Modifications can be offered, and chairs can be provided for accessibility.

Upcoming Classes


Thursday - April 18, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 4/18/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Christine Borden(sub for Angee F)
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - April 20, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 4/20/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Cancelled
Thursday - April 25, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 4/25/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - April 27, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 4/27/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Thursday - May 02, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 5/2/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - May 04, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 5/4/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Thursday - May 09, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 5/9/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - May 11, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 5/11/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Thursday - May 16, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 5/16/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - May 18, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 5/18/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Thursday - May 23, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 5/23/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - May 25, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 5/25/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Thursday - May 30, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 5/30/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - June 01, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 6/1/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Thursday - June 06, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 6/6/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Saturday - June 08, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Saturday 6/8/2024
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Isabel Falcon
Bonfire Hot Yoga
Thursday - June 13, 2024 / PST
Kundalini
Thursday 6/13/2024
7:45 pm - 9:00 pm

Angee Franzen
Bonfire Hot Yoga
3665 SW Hall Blvd, Beaverton, OR 97005